Congratulations Dragons On Winning Division B Squash League

  • Home
  • News
  • Congratulations Dragons On Winning Division B Squash League

Crowe DragonsCrowe Dragons take the league by the finest of margins on the final match day of the season!  Dragons sponsored by Crowe won a very competitive Division B on Thursday night, despite losing to Island Exhausts they gained enough points to take the Division B title, they ended up only 4 points ahead of Outcasts who came a very close second to them.

Beth Jones started the night making her second guest appearance in the B league playing the much more experienced and higher ranked Shaun Callow. Beth played a strong first and 3rd game however was unable to cope with Shauns driving game as he played excellent length and width throughout.

At 4 Steve Gaylor took on the lower ranked Mark Grace but found himself outclassed by his opponent. Steve went 2-0 down before fighting back strong in the 3rd to take a game – however ultimately lost 3-1.

2 losses in and the pressure starting to mount Dragons Captain Jon Shepherd took to the court against James Martin. James started exceptionally well and took the first game with ease 15-5 going 8-0 up early on. The battering sparked life into Jon who returned with a win of his own 15-13. The third started much the same as the first with James being 7-0 up, however Jon rallied to only lose 15-13. the fourth and final game also went James’ way 15-13. only 4 points dropped which swung the title balance back in Dragons favour.

At 2 Magnus played the higher ranked ex international badminton star Josh Green. Josh had a comprehensive victory 3-0 45-27.

The final match was between Ben Peach and Dave O’Neil who had the better of Ben in the reverse fixture earlier in the season. Ben unknowingly needed 42 points to win the pre christmas league.

He came out like a man possessed 8-0 up and taking the first 15-6. A similar start to the second 5-0 to take the game 15-9. The third and final game of the match was an unbelievable contest with some fantastic rallies. Ben took the win 15-14 with a bit of a miss hit in the final point to take Dragons only win of the night but ensured Dragons top the table for Christmas.

The picture shows the Crowe Dragons team of left to right – Ben Peach, Peter Ferguson, Steve Gaylor, Magnus Lamprecht and Jon Shepherd. Other players to have represented the team but not pictured are – Lyndon Cheetham, Brian Cowley, Beth Jones, Oliver Wait and Oliver Williams.  Well done to the team! #WeAreCrowe